The "tic tac," "gimbal," and friends

Rarity

Reactions
A lot of you have probably seen these before, especially since the first was released in December 2017 and they've recently been in various news outlets.

The tic tacs
"It wasn't a fleeting thing, it wasn't a weather balloon, it was an object. I've got a lot of experience. I looked at it for over five minutes and I chased it, I got within a half mile of it, and it had no wings, it had no rotors, you can look in the video, it had no known propulsion system and there's no plume coming out, there's no heat signature - nothing." - Commander David Fravor

In early November of 2004, a US Navy strike force which included the USS Nimitz carrier and the USS Princeton missile cruiser was conducting training exercise about a hundred miles southwest of San Diego. For days the Fire Control staff of the Princeton had been detecting up to ten Anomalous Aerial Vehicles (AAV) with their SPY-1 radar, said to have been the "most sophisticated and powerful tactical radar on the planet." The AAVs kept appearing over the same spot over the ocean, "a Lat/Long about 30NM off the coast of Baja, roughly 70nm southwest of Tijuana." They had been coming down from above 80,000 feet and would proceed to drop from 80,000 down to 20,000 feet and hover (sometimes for 3 hours), and from there would either rapidly ascend again or drop out of radar range. They continued to track these AAVs, which were able to move with speeds, turn rates, and accelerations "faster than any known friendly or threat aircraft. Impossibly fast."