1726: Jonathan Swift - Gulliver's Travel

VinniePazman

Reactions
Great novel which full name is "Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World. In Four parts.
By Lemuel Gulliver, First a Surgeon, and then a Captain of Several Ships"

okladka.jpg

I studied it few years ago in dystopia system context, but now I want to describe shortly every story, connect it with things we are founding out these days and invited you all to investigate - true/fiction elements.

some descriptions are from wikipedia

Part I: Voyage to Lilliput
The Citizens of this land are describe as 6 inches (15cm) people. The conflict beetwen two small nations shows relations between France and England in 18th century. Describe of their behaves: "At first, the Lilliputians are hospitable to Gulliver, but they are also wary of the threat that his size poses to them. The Lilliputians reveal themselves to be a people who put great emphasis on trivial matters. For example, which end of an egg a person cracks becomes the basis of a deep political rift within that nation."

1lili.JPEG

Do we know any historician relations about so small people? I didn't find things like these.

Part II: Voyage to Brobdignang
The land of Giants, situated on the western coast of the North American continent. He is then found by a farmer who is about 72 ft (22 m). The local nobility commands the forces; firearms and gunpowder are unknown to them. The King scolds Gulliver when he tries to interest the statesman in the use of gunpowder.

guliwer.JPEG

gulliver.JPEG

The laws of Brobdingnag are simple and easy to follow. There is little civil litigation. Murderers are beheaded. Brobdingnagian culture consists of history, poetry, mathematics and ethics, mathematics being a particular strength. Printing has been long known but libraries are relatively small. The king has the largest library, which contains about one thousand volumes. The Brobdingnagians favour a clear literary style.

giant.JPEG

We saw thing like this